24 Locked-Room Mysteries Perfect For Fans Of And Then There Were None

There are affiliate links in here.  I get a small commission if you purchase through them at no extra cost to you

I’ll admit, I don’t care for And Then There Were None (the writing style drove me nuts) but I do love locked-room mysteries so this list has been fun to put together.

It’s pretty much made up of all more recently published books (not the Christie era, basically) but it’s a variety of genres within the genre.

There is YA, Nordic noir, popular books, less-popular books, and even one novella. I’ve read about half of these and want to read the other half, for sure.

But wait, what is a locked-room mystery, you ask? Well, if you found this, you probably know, but just in case, here it is.

A locked-room mystery is part of the mystery/thriller genre where a group of people are locked in a house or stuck on an island or remote area, usually cut off from society.

Someone is found murdered in a way or place that seems impossible and everyone has to figure out what happened or who did it from the limited number of suspects, the people locked in the room/house/island.

If you like the movie Clue or want a book like And Then There Were None, probably the most famous locked-room mystery ever, then this is the list for you!

  • If you want to listen to some of these, consider trying Audible! You can get your first month free (one free book) plus tons of others they have for free.  Get that Audible deal here.
  • If you’re on more of a budget, try Scribd!  You can get your first month free there. You can read books and listen to audiobooks. It is unlimited (especially the reading) but if you listen to tons of new audiobooks you may be restricted after a few. I don’t listen to enough to confirm this, but I do use Scribd myself and like it a lot.
  • If you want to read more on your Kindle but don’t want to buy books, Kindle Unlimited is a wonderful option. It’s $9.99 a month but if you read a lot and like to read more than just new releases, it could be worth it. Get Kindle Unlimited here!
  • Get $5 off of $25 from BookOutlet! This is a great place to find new books for pretty cheap. They also have sales quite a bit, so keep an eye out for those. I tend to check here for books I want if they’re more expensive other places. They don’t have everything but they do have a lot. Get that deal here.
  • Thrift Books has become my go-to when I’m looking for a book and want it cheap. It’s great if you like buying used books. With this you can get a free book after spending $30!
  • Shop my book lists here! You can find every book list I have on Bookshop.org (except my monthly round-ups) and I add everything I can but they occasionally won’t have some. I do occasionally add extras though. If any lists are empty, they’ll be filled in shortly! Shop my bookshop.org book lists here.

Ten

Ten teens are having an exclusive party on Henry Island, having the weekend of their lives when they find a DVD with a sinister message: Vengeance is mine. 

They are cut off from the outside world thanks to a raging storm.  A killer is soon picking them off one by one, getting more violent as he does and now it’s up to Meg to find out who it is before more people die.

I liked this one! The vibes were creepy but it’s an easy read since it’s YA. It’s fun and a little spooky.

An Unwanted Guest

Mitchell’s Inn in the Catskills makes for the perfect romantic weekend getaway. When the weather takes a turn for the worse the guests try and make the most of being snowed in and cut off from the outside world.

One of them turns up dead soon and it looks like an accident. But when a second does, panic ensues. All they can do now is hope they survive the storm and each other.

I’m actually reading this one right now! I’ll report back in a few days!

The Rules

Robin has no idea what she’s getting into when she tags along to an epic party scavenger hunt. When things get going, they take a dark turn and Robin has to go against every rule she has to survive.

This wasn’t 10/10 but it was a fun read. They’re not locked in anything or on an island, but out in an abandoned factory (I think, I can’t remember?) so it has a little creepy setting that way.

The Dark

So, instead of a room, this is Antarctica. I got this one a few months ago and can’t wait to read it.

A&E Kate North has been knocked out by a personal tragedy so she jumps at the chance to be the emergency replacement at the UN research station in Antarctica. The previous doctor died in an accident on the ice.

It’s the perfect opportunity for her but as darkness and winter descend, she starts to suspect his death wasn’t an accident at all.

All Your Twisted Secrets

This sounds a little bit like Saw but teens at a scholarship dinner. I liked this one and I don’t know if I’ve disliked a character as much as one in here (you’ll know when you read it, trust me.)

Six students with nothing in common are invited to a scholarship dinner where they’re locked in with a bomb and syringe filled with poison. They have to choose one to kill or they all die.

They go over the last year to see how they’re all connected and who may want them dead. It’s clear everyone is hiding something but time is running out as they decide who dies.

The Marvelous

Everyone thinks they know Jewel Van Hanen, the heiress turned social media darling who created the massive video-sharing app, Golden Rule.

After a mysterious year away, she returns with news that a few lucky Golden Rule users have been chosen for a lavish weekend at her private estate. Once they arrive, they unknowingly became players in a massive estate-wide game of survival.

The Hunting Party

This has been on my TBR for a while and maybe I’ll finally read it this winter!

A group of friends from Oxford are keeping up a ten-year tradition and ringing in the new year together at an isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands.

The trip begins as usual but after a decade, secrets and resentments start to come to the surface. The cord holding them together snaps and a historic blizzard has them trapped in the lodge. Two days later, on New Years Day, one of them is found dead and they need to figure out which of them did it.

The Shiver in the Arctic

Constable Petra Jensen picks up the pieces of an old case to investigate while the temperatures plummet and residents of a remote village hunker down during a particularly vicious winter storm.

This is the novella and it’s a fun one set in Greenland.

One of Us is Lying

On Monday, five students walk into detention and only four leave. Simon is dead before the end of detention and police investigation says it wasn’t an accident.

He died Monday but planned to share juicy secrets of his four detention-mates on Tuesday which makes them all suspects.

If you like this kind of thing, here are a ton more books like One of Us is Lying.

They All Fall Down

Miriam is surprised with an invitation to a luxurious private island off the coast of Mexico with six strangers.

In the middle of paradise, they soon realize they were all brought there for a reason – they all have a secret. Danger is lurking in the lush forest and the lonely mansion while the group is trapped in paradise as they all fall down, one by one.

Cruel is the Night

Three cell phones ring and three cell phones go unanswered in a London apartment because all three recipients are dead.

Four Finnish friends met up for dinner and it’s been ten years since Robert, the host, has seen his once-best friend Mikko after a falling out over unethical interest rate manipulations done by Robert.

Mikko is an investigative journalist with a career dedicated to bringing down corrupt financiers and politicians. His wife, Veera who Robert had an affair with once, is along as is Elise, Robert’s trophy wife.

Mikko arrives with an agenda and plan for murder but he doesn’t realize what’s on the menu for the night: everyone with a bone to pick with someone else there and an arsenal of deadly weapons hiding in plain sight.

This one sounds like it could be pretty good and I just added it to my wishlist!

Malice: A Mystery

The day before he is set to leave Japan, Kunihiko Hidaka, an acclaimed novelist, is found dead in a locked room in his locked house with just his wife and best friend who have, apparently, rock-solid alibis.

Police Detective Kyochiro Kaga recognizes Osamu Nonoguchi, Hadaka’s best friend and fellow writer. As he investigates, Kaga discovers their relationship was very different than they portrayed. He knows who and how things happened, now he just has to figure out why.

The Dying Game

This is like, a combo dystopian/locked-room mystery and I’m here for it.

It’s 2037, the Soviet Union never fell, and most of Europe is part of the totalitarian Union of Friendship. Seven people on the island of Isola were selected to compete in a forty-eight-hour test for a top-secret intelligence position. One is Anna, a workaholic with a daughter she never sees and a secret that haunts her.

It’s her job to stage her own death and watch, hidden in the walls, to see how the other six contestants react to the news a murderer is among them. But then a storm knocks the power out and the real game begins.

No Exit

Darby is on her way to seeing her dying mother back home in Utah when she gets caught in a blizzard in the Colorado mountains. She’s forced to wait out the storm at a rest stop with four total strangers.

Trying to find a signal to call home, Darby goes to the parking lot and instead finds a little girl locked in an animal crate in the van parked next to her.

Now she is determined to find a way to get the girl out of the van and escape since one of her fellow travelers is a kidnapper. She has to decide who she can trust now.

I just read this and I loved it! It was so good. Then I watched the movie and I really didn’t like that. So if you want to read and watch this, I would read it first.

In A Dark, Dark Wood

Nora is a bit of a recluse but is happy living in London as a writer. She had worked on distancing herself from childhood friendships, at least until an unexpected invitation arrives summoning her to a Hen Do (bachelorette) party in the English countryside for her childhood best friend, Clare.

She reluctantly agrees and finds herself on a train and in a mansion in the middle of the woods sooner than later. Soon, tensions are rising and Nora’s reserves are shattered by an unnerving memory and she’s wondering if she’ll ever make it home to London.

The Woman in Cabin 10

Lo writes for a travel magazine and has been given the assignment of a lifetime: a week on a small luxury cruise. Everything is perfect when the Aurora sets off but things start to get worse as the week progresses and then a woman is thrown overboard. But everyone was accounted for so they sail on even as Lo protests but it’s clear something is very wrong.

I got this one over the summer and am very excited to read it.

One by One

It doesn’t sound the worst to be snowed in at a luxurious French chalet but it is when it’s eight coworkers that all have something to gain, something to lose, and something to hide.

It started out like your average corporate retreat but tensions rise and loyalties are tested when a shareholder upended the agenda by pushing a contentious but lucrative buyout offer.

The storm brewing inside rivals the one brewing outside. An avalanche leaves the group stranded but one person never made it back from the slopes. As time passes and no sign of rescue is seen, the group begins to dwindle, one by one.

The Guest List

Guests gather to celebrate two people joining their lives together on an island off the coast of Ireland. Service is spotty and waves are rough but everything has been expertly planned.

As the festivities begin, petty jealousy mixes with well wishes, groomsmen begin playing a college drinking game, the bridesmaid “accidentally” spills on the bride, the bride’s oldest male friend gives an uncomfortably caring toast, and someone turns up dead.

I would also really like to read this one and just realized I have it on my Kindle!

Shiver

Milla expects an intimate weekend of catching up with old friends when she gets the invitation to Le Rocher in the French Alps where they bonded while training for an elite snowboarding competition.

But when they arrive, they realize something is wrong. The resort is deserted, cell phones are missing, cable cars aren’t working, and instructions await. The icebreaker game is designed to draw out their secrets and remind them of Saskia, their sixth friend who vanished the morning of the competition and has been presumed dead.

The Sanatorium

Le Sommet, in the Swiss Alps, has always been a sinister place always plagued by troubling rumors. The former sanatorium has now been turned into a five-star hotel.

It’s the last place Elin Warner wants to be but since she’s taken time off from her job as a detective, she has no reason not to accept the invitation from her estranged brother, Isaac, and his fiance Laure, to celebrate their engagement.

Arriving in a storm, there is something about the hotel that makes her feel on edge. When they awake the next day, they find Laure missing and the hotel cut off because of the storm. The remaining guests begin to panic and Elin is under pressure to find Laure but no one has realized another woman is also missing.

Hunting Game

Embla has been plagued with nightmares for the majority of her twenty-eight years. She channels most of her anxious energy into her Detective Inspector position in the mobile unit in Gothenburg, Sweden, and sports.

She joins her family and friends on the annual moose hunt trip as a needed break from her stressful job. When they arrive, she sees a familiar face: Peter, attractive and newly divorced. A longtime hunt member also notices and doesn’t like the presence of an outsider which happens to make their group number thirteen, a bad omen for the week.

Bad things start to happen and two group members disappear. Embla takes charge of the search, delving into the dark pasts of her fellow hunters as she searches for the killer.

This is a good option if you want a Nordic noir locked-room mystery.

Hide and Seek

Helen Grace has a target on her back as one of the most high-profile new inmates at HM Prison Holloway. She has a long list of enemies, some sharing these same walls. When a fellow prisoner is found mutilated in her own cell, it’s clear the killer is someone on the inside.

Helen is being framed and time is running out for her to expose whoever that is while the body count starts to climb.

Death in the Family

Shana Merchant is starting over after surviving a serial killer abduction as an NYPD detective. In her new job in the Thousand Islands region of Upstate New York, she is called, with fellow investigator Tim Wellington, to investigate a man missing on a private island.

There is blood on the scene and the wealthy Sinclair family and friends are all on edge. Shana is convinced of murder and as the storm outside intensifies, she discovers everyone is keeping dangerous secrets.

Five Total Strangers

Mira desperately needs to get home but a blizzard traps her at the airport after her connecting flight indefinitely. Then Harper, her glamorous seatmate from the flight, offers her a ride. Harper and her three friends can drop Mira off on their way home.

Once they set off, she realizes one of them is hiding something. The roads go from slippery to terrifying when things start disappearing and she realizes someone in the car is lying. Will she make it home or will the nightmare turn fatal?

Have you read any of these locked-room mysteries? Which ones? Any others I should check out?

Author: Megan Johnson

I'm Megan, a cheesehead at heart currently residing in the Sunshine State. You can probably find me reading, watching Forensic Files, or both.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.